Allow us to catch you up… It’s been six years since Richard Durand despatched us his boldly high-concept ‘Richard Durand Versus The World’ album. It’s cheap to say that within the meantime his outlook on many features of life – each private – have shifted.

Over that interval he has circled the planet a dozen + occasions, DJing, producing travelling, experiencing and life balancing. It’s additionally a timeframe inside which he skilled loss (by way of the passing of his long-time buddy & supervisor) and a close to sizeable shift in his trance music tastes. (The latter prompting him to depart the ‘In Search Of Sunrise’ combine collection).

Consequently Richard has been on album-pause whereas the frequencies realigned and life loops resolved. He at all times knew that when he returned to the medium (after 2009’s ‘Always The Sun’, 2011s ‘Wide Awake’ and 2012’s ‘R.D.V.T.W.’), it needed to be with a world-beater. To that finish, Durand has spent a lot of the final 14 months growing a brand new observe assortment, robust in each quantity (it options 19 productions) and sonic nature. It additionally bucks the present development of collab, collab, collab, its meeting being much more Richard’s personal singular tackle the trance sound. Where studio partnerships happen, artistically they achieve this organically. They happen with likeminded operators (Marco V, Mark Sherry, Sied van Riel, by means of instance) who share Richard’s imaginative and prescient of a harder, extra propulsive clubbing tomorrow. Similarly vocal cuts are distinct of their rarity – Christina Novelli and Mike Schmidt (final heard on Cosmic Gate’s ‘Nothing Can Touch You Now’) make appearances all through its course.

Richard Durand Releases 1st Album In 6 Years With "The Air We Breathe"Richard Durand Releases 1st Album In 6 Years With "The Air We Breathe"

The album is a launch whose essence is certain within the oneness of the hypnotic, marching and certainly flat-out entrancing character of trance. ‘The Air We Breathe’ is as a lot an exhalation as an inhalation for the Dutchman, and one with the unmistakable subtext of 1 musical period passing and the start of one other.

The album overtures with ‘Insolidus’, which Richard co-produced with Geert Huinink. Through Durand’s remixing of Huinink’s (the legendary co-writer of Tiësto’s opening three albums) ‘The Sacred Vine’, Geert makes a second look however a number of tracks later. Vocal quantity ‘Kill The Fear’ (sung by Mike Schmid) and the deeper fringe of ‘Land Of Angels’ additional help in ‘The Air We Breathe’s improvement.

From there, its physics turn out to be markedly extra gravity-defying, and the album gears as much as the intense enterprise of flooring elevation. ‘Skies Above’, ‘Aida’, ‘Lotus’ and the Sied van Riel-coproduced ‘Universal Minds’ collectively put it in flight mode.

With the midpoint-marking, ‘Pandora’ and the Mark Sherry co-produced ‘Cosmic Dawn’ comes one other pivot level. It assumes a more durable, harder, extra angular profile, as (the tellingly titled) ‘Savage’, ‘Toxic’, ‘Vortex’, (alongside Marco V’) and the deliciously unsettling ‘Boogieman’ provide it an onrush of ‘4AM’-ness. At observe 19, the album emerges blinking into the sunshine, with Richard’s Beatport chart-topping, most up-to-date single (alongside Christina Novelli), ‘The Air I Breathe’.

An LP that faces as much as the six-years-later challenges and surmounts every by way of sheer auditory power, Richard Durand’s fourth album ‘The Air We Breathe’ is offered to stream/buy right here at this time:

Tracklist: Richard Durand – The Air We Breathe

01. Insolidus (with Geert Huinink) (Intro Mix)
02. The Air I Breathe
03. Land Of Angels
04. Kill The Fear (with Mike Schmid)
05. Geert Huinink – The Sacred Vine (Richard Durand Remix)
06. The Skies Above
07. Aida
08. Lotus
09. Universal Minds (with Sied van Riel)
10. Pandora
11. Cosmic Dawn (with Mark Sherry)
12. Vortex (with Marco V)
13. Toxic
14. Savage
15. Pelican Rouge
16. Boogieman
17. Enigma
18. Lagun
19. The Air I Breathe (with Christina Novelli)